Are Health Food Store Shoppers Just Plain Rude?

I love my local healthy grocery store. I really do. I love that I can buy fruits, salad and even marinated tofu salad by the pound. I love the huge supply of local fruits and veggies displayed right by a vast array of international food products.

Image

What I don’t love is the attitude.

Unfortunately, there’s something about health-conscious people, the type who know the difference between quinoa and millet, that just rubs me the wrong way. I guess all of the qualities that I love so much about my healthy grocery store are the same qualities that attract health nuts who have superiority complexes over everyone, even their fellow health food shoppers.

And I’m not talking about the people who work there. In fact, part of the allure of shopping at these places is that the employees are generally friendlier and happier than pretty much any other grocery store. Yesterday, the cashier at the checkout reminded me to check my eggs for cracks. This is the kind of neighborly attitude I want out of everyone at these places.

But what I’m continually confronted with is a group of people who, despite being taught manners somehow feel as though they’ve risen above the need to have any. Clearly, their profound knowledge of bee pollen and spirulina supplements makes them better than everyone else – including all the people shopping there with the exact same knowledge.

Don’t get me wrong. I’ll still frequent my favorite health food stores to get my favorite supplement-enriched smoothie and boxed spaetzle. But.

Is it really that hard to say excuse me?!

I guess when your brain is clouded from all that unfermented soy protein, it is.

Leave a Reply

