Green Goddess Dressing (and revisions)

Ina Garten’s green goddess dressing is by far my favorite salad dressing, and I like to use it on everything. However, the first time I tried making it, I followed the directions online exactly, and it was too salty and overall just bad. So here’s the recipe along with a few tips for making it yourself.

  • 1 cup good quality mayonnaise
  • 1 cup chopped scallions (equal parts green and white)
  • 1 cup chopped fresh basil leaves
  • 1/4 cup fresh squeezed lemon juice
  • 2 tsp chopped garlic
  • 2 tsp anchovy paste
  • 2 tsp kosher salt
  • 1 tsp fresh ground black pepper
  • 1 cup sour cream
Put all the ingredients except the sour cream into the blender and blend until smooth. Add the sour cream last and blend again. Refrigerate until you use it.
My first problem was the salt. I actually added a bit less than suggested and all I could taste was salt, even with the sour cream in it. Instead, blend the ingredients without the salt, sprinkling it in a bit at a time. Blend, taste, add and repeat until it tastes right. Remember that the anchovy paste can add both saltiness and flavor.
Another problem was that I couldn’t taste the scallions at first, so I recommend starting with the 1:1 basil/scallion ratio, but be prepared to add some more scallions for a bit of extra flavor.
The lemon juice flavor can also be a bit overpowering so it’s another ingredient that I start with about half the recommended amount, then add more to taste once all the ingredients (minus the sour cream) have been added. I personally go with about the juice of half of one large lemon.
Although some of the advice has to do with personal taste, I definitely recommend going light on the salt for anyone. Two 2 tsp is just way too much.
The original recipe also calls to pair the dressing with a simple bibb lettuce and tomato salad, which I’m sure tastes delicious, but this dressing pairs really well with salads that have some sort of fruit. My favorite is pairing apricots and blueberries together, but strawberries, raspberries and blackberries all taste great, too. A bit of goat cheese and crushed up nuts of any kind give the salad a unique texture. And a sprinkle of green onions/scallions brings out the flavor in the dressing, too.
Anyway, I hope you enjoy and I hope you find the perfect ingredients for you.
Leave a Reply

